TURBULENCE

Image

I’m sitting in an airplane preferably the window seat.  I don’t know how I got here nor do I know where I am going. looking out the window to see I am positioned right above the left wing of the airplane. Outside is opaqued with dark clouds making it hard telling what time of day it is. I realized I am sitting alone in a seat of two and asked a flying attendant,
“Where is the destination of this plane?”
“She replied, “I don’t know sir, depends upon you.

I looked at her like she was clearly stupid! I turned around to look behind me for the first time. I am about two seconds from running around panicking. In more added confusion, I see many set of twins. I literally see twins! everywhere filling up the seats followed by some people sitting alone like me. Directly behind me stares a middle aged lady with her twin, Identical twin. They were perfectly identical from clothes, right down to the mole, to even the scratch under her right eye.
“Miss?” I asked. “Where are we going?”
“I know where I am going, but I don’t know where you are going. You are going to ask yourself that.” She replied.
I gave her a stern “fuck you” look for not even helping me at all. I turn around and to sit properly, still confused like never before. The last thing I can remember was…nothing. I pulled out my galaxy S3 and my wallet too count my money. Immediately, I saw my ID blank. “Okay what the fuck is going on!” I muttered loudly. The lady behind me taps my shoulders from above.
“WHAT!” I screamed. “Can’t you see I’m asking myself stuff?”
“Well, I’m curious to know where is your other half?”
” Lady, what? Right now is not the time to meddle in my business”
“No, sir I’m serious I’m sitting next to my other half, where is yours?”

“you date your twin?” I placed my palm over my face as if nothing could get any weirder. Now people date their twins, clearly, I am not in 2014. The twin lady rest her arms and chin on top of my chair.
“You see sir, my twin is my other half. My twin is me, but, like, the higher sense of me, the me that makes myself complete, self discovery and all that jazz.” I looked up at her, then over to her twin, then over too her again, lastly, to my chair which was empty.
“So you are saying that there is two of me out in this world? And, my seat is empty because I don’t know who I am yet?” The twin lady smiled gleefully.“Yeah you got it, you see the lady across from us or the guy in the back of the plane. They don’t know themselves either that’s why there seats are empty also.” The twin lady, who seemed a lot less annoying them before made her way to sit right next to me. “How do I go about finding myself like the rest of these people? And, I thought my other half was another person whom I loved and completed me?”

The twin lady giggled. “No, that is an old Hollywood gimmick way of thinking. As you see, people who set out to think someone is suppose to complete them end up finding major conflict. They tend to not love correctly, but love addictively.  They expect someone else to fulfill their happiness and discover themselves through someone else. I cannot go to you asking you about me, that’s impossible! You see how people react when there identify lies within someone else. When that person, who mostly likely don’t know themselves either, fails to attend to another happiness…you have romantic Hollywood!” Twin lady grabs my hands as I face down. I look up to her as she stares directly into my eyes. “Find yourself then all that I am saying will make sense, especially about loving you and someone else,” she said.
” Okay, lady so how do I go about this journey,” I asked.
well, you can stay on this plane until you reach a destination, any, and start from there.”
“Now, I am going to ask again. Where is this plane going?”
“I don’t know sir,” she responded. “It depends upon you”
“Ugh!” I wailed. This bitch is back on my annoyed list!
Oh and by the way,” she added “My name is …”

PingBack: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Sound Of Silence