Annukai The Genie

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Advantage of Foresight

“Okay! Alright, Genie,” I said rubbing my hands on the lamp. “Appear!”  With grace, a cloud of smoke oozed out from the head of the lamp. The white, formless, cloud morphed into an Egyptian figure, so real and so intricate in design. The genie named Annukai appeared before me with his arms crossed, stern in his stature. I reached touch the reality before me, but my hands slipped through him. Sharply, I withdrew my hands looking both ways. Am I transparent? “No, You are real. I am the won who is not dense. I cannot fully become in your likeness without sacrificing my consciousness. I worked too damn hard, too many lifetimes to reach this point. I refuse,” said Annukai the Genie reading my thoughts.

I smiled. “Great, well, lets sit down and have some tea. I have plenty of request.” I pulled out the chairs at my backyard for me and for him, however, when he sat down he still appeared to be floating. He explained how it was pointless to sit and have tea unless I care to the join the festivities alone. Which I didn’t mind, of course, it was more tea for me. “The tea will just make a mess. I can’t consume earthly things. And by the way you guys cook, I refuse. It’s unhealthy,” He babbled.

“You must think you are better than thou, huh? You know you was once human before. Cut you shit!” I yelled.
“Yeah, but back in my eons food was food. Now food is rude. Rude to body. Rude to the planet. Rude to the soul. Rude to the–”
“I GET IT! Can I get to my request please. You chat too much, bro!”
“As you wish.”
“Wait, I hope that didn’t count as for one of my wishes right, cause…”
“Wishes are unlimited, but no”

I explained to him how I troubled the future of today. It has been so much going on in the world from homophobia, the Confederate flag, Caitlyn Jenner, College. You know name it, it’s an issue. I wanted a sense of security in my life. I hope the future to be a lot more open. Free. Pleasant. This genie would be able to help me with my answer, I suppose. Annukai explain how although my wishes were unlimited each wish came with it a token of sacrifice. My specific request to see the future whenever I wanted cost me one day of my life span. “Everything in the universe is about balance,” he said.  Which I can totally agree with.

I agreed with the terms and conditions of wish making. I signed the bill with my blood, two tree leaves, and my gold ring. Perplexed I asked, “What you need my gold ring for?”

“I like Gold.”
“Excuse me…this ring is my favorite ring. That’s not fair. It’s not part of your ‘ritual’ I bet.”
” Its not you are right. But I like gold, so hand it over”, he demanded. I refused. “We are not continuing. I need one earth element for this process to be done.”

“Then use the dirt on the ground, you need me to bring some tap water, use my tea, use something else my ring is not even an element. It’s a ring, for Christ sake,” I said.
“Gold. Symbol AU. Atomic number 79. Melting point  1,948°F (1,064°C). Boiling Point  5,378°F (2,970°C). Atomic Mass 196.96657 ± 0.000004 u. Electron Configuration  [Xe] 4f14 5d10 6s1.” Annukai taunted. ” I like gold.”

“Oh Bitch, I give up.” I rolled my eyes handing him over my ring. It’s probably not even real gold anyways, just gold covered nickel or some shit.”
Nickle. Symbol Ni –”
“NOT AGAIN. JUST FINISH PLEASE,” I shouted. He laughed putting all the ingredients into some mysterious black box he formed in thin air. I was amazed by his magic, but then again, he is a genie after all. Once he closed the black box he stood still with a smile on his face. I looked at him awkwardly unbeknownst  to what is going on. I put my head down on the table feeling my stomach growl. This needs to hurry up.  I peeked above from my arms to check in on whats going on. “Annukai, is it done?” He stood immobile again.  I went to reach for the lamp underneath the table. I knocked on the lamp as if it was a door to my friends house. I repeatedly called his name when he snapped back into reality which caused me to jump backwards in fear.

“You humans lack patience,” he said.
“What the fuck bro! Don’t scare me like that!”

The deed was done, though I don’t know why he went away. I don’t even care at this point. I just want my powers. “Okay, sir so what will your first foresight out the day be?” He asked.
” I want to see what my mom will be making for dinner?”
“You do know, that will cost you one–”
“I am hungry!”

Leave a Reply

