Wild: From Lost To Found On The Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

It is part of Oprah Book Club 2.0.
The film was nominated a Golden Globe Award for Best Actress in a Motion Picture.
#1 New York Times Bestseller for seven consecutive weeks.
#1 National Bestseller.
Barnes and Noble Discovery Award.
…and it won my soul.

Cherly Strayed and Oprah On Super Soul Sunday

Cheryl Strayed and Oprah On Super Soul Sunday

I stabled across this book about a week ago searching for memoirs to read as I try to gear up for mine. I wanted a strong another strong example of a memoirist style and layout.  I already read Janet Mock’s Redefining Realness which too became a New York Times Bestseller. Do you see where I am trying to go with this memoir? Redefining Realness is another gratifying book that tells a story ones identity trivial and acceptance. I came across a picture of a boot. I seen this book cover before, but I didn’t know where. Later I realized it was from an train ad I seen while going to dance with Fergie.  I was torn between that book or a workbook to get all my memories together. I decided on “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed and was in for an internal ride.
Book Review

This books is a person of its own. It resonated with me unexpectedly taking me in my own reflective depth of myself. It

Cheryl Stayed on the PCT circa 1995

Cheryl Stayed on the PCT circa 1995

compelled me to tell my own story while inspiring me to go on my own person journey. “Wild”  tells a story about a woman hiking over 1,000 miles to self-awareness on the Pacific Crest Trail. A trail that hugs the border of Mexico and Canada, passing California, Oregon, and Washington. She takes you on a journey describing the beautiful yet scary wildlife passing through like minded folks.

I was immobilize by the raw honesty she told while reflecting the death of her mother; the love of her life. She explains in detail how the tragedy influenced her into a downward spiral of sex, drugs, and divorce. The human attitude of grieving that perpetuates hate, sadness, blame, and then forgiveness. She dwells on her relationship with her abusive father, and takes you into her struggles and triumphs while hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. It’s humorous and relatable.
It has a feminist appeal.
Its soulful.  Thus, why I got the idea to call books that really speak to me, “Soul Book”.

Wild-Reese-WitherspoonI saw the Film alone a few days ago alone although I was towards the end of the book. I needed to see it alone. This story had so much of me in it, it was only I were able to understand. It was played by Reese Witherspoon who got a Golden Globe Nomination for this film. I was pleased with the movie, I want to actually buy the DVD which I don’t do. I really feel like going to see it again. Alone. I am really not in a good space at all, maybe that’s why It spoke too well to me. I was even able to relate to her mothers hippy views on the world.

I don’t want to give it all away, but I highly recommend this book.
It’s a must read.

Film trailer:

2 thoughts on “Wild: From Lost To Found On The Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

  1. The book appears to be interesting, more so than the film. If it inspired you, Dontae, then it must be good. I’ll need to get it. Much love and naked hugs, my blogging buddy! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

