I Can Smell It. I Can Smell It. I Can smell Independence!

Daily Prompt  – Tell us about your first day at something — your first day of school, first day of work, first day living on your own, first day blogging, first day as a parent, whatever.

 

I took a deep breath. Inhaling the warm summer breeze I closed my eyes savoring this moment. I exhaled all that was before me when walked down the path to freedom. Only 2o years young I am happy I can be away from all and be with in me and my sanctuary. Well, I will be sharing space with my best friend, but he will be in the other room. The point be it that I have my own space…partly. In my hand I struggled with the air mattress box that poked a hole in the plastic bag. “Shit, dumb store didn’t double bag,” I said aloud. I would be making new memories and commemorating my freedom in this shabby old house. It was the only odd looking house on the block that stood next to two to three family home houses. While all the other houses connected in one solid row down the street, this house gray and meek deserved an award for passing the test of time. I wondered why haven this place been renovated and remade. Apparently, the landlord ran out the country but is still paying property taxed to sustain this overgrown shack.
I hopped over the gate into the yard of the house like a pro. It was about four feet high, but it still looked like jumping into a convertible. The grass looked as if he hasn’t been mowed in a few years. I looked at the yard very displeased at the up keep. I looked down and around scanning for any shady looking things that may surprise me. I am not here to be scared.  My sanctuary was located behind the suspicious old house. It served as an attachment where the only connection to the house was through the basement.  I smiled. I soon was about to open the warm golden doorknob to freedom. But then I stopped in thought. I squinted at my door only a few feet away at a dark patch that reside at the corner of me door. “What the fuck is that?” I said.  When I got up close and personal with that thing, it wasn’t a thing anymore. It was a beehive. I slapped my palm over my face in distress. It was a whole colony right above the door. What will happen when I open the door? I pray to the heaven I don’t get attacked by these wasp.
I slowly open the door like a robber. My eyes are zoomed, focused, and fixated on them yellow jacket bees. As soon as my head was inside my home I slammed the door closed breathing heavily against the door. I shook my head to regain my composure smiling at the revealing of my new home.  I went into my room that was once a living room and laid out my mattress to blow up.  the room was entirely empty and small. The only furniture I had there were my old shoes and socks from the other day. I made way into the kitchen to turn on the stove. It didn’t work. “hmm okay,” I thought. ” Maybe it’s a Con Edison thing.” I kicked off my shoes touching my toes on the warm wooden floor that creek from old age. In the bathroom I turned on the hot water to refresh my face. It was cold. very cold. I turned on the shower now curious to what the hell is going in this place. And that too was freezing cold. ” What the fuck!” I screamed. There seemed to have been a creepy one hundred leg insect running out tub. I ran out of that bathroom faster than a jacket rabbit in the middle of August on a hot greasy griddle as Sandy would say. My friend ran toward me with a bat.
“Yo! oh my god, son!” He said. ” I was about to bash your head in. I didn’t even hear you come in!”  “What the hell is going on here?” I belted.
“What you mean?” He said.
” What you mean, what I mean? Nigga where is the hot water and gas?”
” Yeah, about that…It doesn’t work.”
What about the fridge?” I opened the door to be punched in the face by a grotesque smell.
“Oh! there goes my extra cheese pizza I was looking for!” My friend said joyously. The pizza was deteriorating by mold and the foul smell. I was growing angrier by the minute. I starred at him with my palm over my face covering my mouth and nose.
“This is going to be an experience” I mumbled in my hand.
“What did you say?” he said.
“Nothing”
” What did you say? I cant hear you…”
I rolled me eyes.

 

5 thoughts on “I Can Smell It. I Can Smell It. I Can smell Independence!

  1. This promises to be the beginning of a fascinating and fantastic tale, Dontae! Knowing you for only a short amount of time, I can already sense the mischief to come! You are amazing, man! Much love and naked hugs (no bees around)! 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: Daily Post…First | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

