PRETEND IT’S 1993. LIVE

tumblr_mslv4zI7zI1reaf9no1_1280    I came across something on my Tumblr today while at work and I though I’d share. It was a post of a quote that said, “No wifi…Talk to each other. Call your mom. pretend its 1993. Live.” I thought it was a nice jab to our current society ways and how we live. I was going to by pass this and just “like” and move on until I saw the comments the went along with it.

I mean, like, of course we “live”. Jordan means higher social status, Iggy invented rap, Azealia banks twitter rants are better than The Bad Girls Club, Beyoncé is Jesus reincarnated and yeah, we totally are living in our means!

In a fashion that’s understood by Tumblr things post tend to have a mind of its own and people really bluntly share their opinions then share with the world, which I love by the way, we have a voice! Each comment had with it a sense of teaching I thought was so cute and so true.

 The comments went as follows:

NO “TELEPHONES”. TALK TO EACH OTHER. FACE TO FACE ONLY. WRITE A LETTER. SEND A TELEGRAM TO YOUR MOM. PRETEND IT’S 1860. LIVE.

NO ‘WRITING’… TALK TO EACH OTHER. THROW A ROCK AT YOUR MOM. PRETEND IT’S 10,000 BCE.  LIVE.

NO ‘HIGHER BRAIN FUNCTIONS’ …USE YOUR REPTILIAN BRAIN. EAT YOUR MOM’S CORPSE SHE DIED TO PROVIDE YOU WITH SUSTENANCE. PRETEND YOU HAVE JUST AROSE FROM THE SEA. SURVIVE

NO “MULTICELLULAR TRAITS”….. USE YOUR SYMBIOTIC MITOCHONDRIA
REPRODUCE ASEXUALLY, YOU’RE YOUR OWN PARENT
PRETEND IT’S 2BYA
EVOLVE

NO “LIFE.” USE FUNDAMENTAL PHYSICAL FORCES TO FORM SPHERICAL OBJECTS REVOLVING AROUND ONE ANOTHER IN SPACE.
FUSE HYDROGEN INTO HELIUM USING GRAVITATIONAL PRESSURE TO PRODUCE HEAT AND LIGHT. PRETEND IT’S 4.5BYA.
STABILIZE INTO EQUILIBRIA

NO “MATTER”.  EXIST IN THE VOID WITHOUT PURPOSE OR MEANING.
THERE IS NO “YOU”, ONLY THE VAST CONCEPT OF NOTHING.
TIME DOES NOT EXIST.
BE.

Oh, the joy! I found the last comment to be the most profound  ending it with “Be.” It’s just so simple yet so powerful and refreshing to hear.  The hippie in my head is jumping! I wonder how a future one like this would sound like?

“No telepathy.  Use your mouth to speak.
Add your mom on Facebook. Pretend its 2015.
Socialize.”

What are your versions?

6 thoughts on “PRETEND IT’S 1993. LIVE

  1. I embrace the concept. It’s great to re-introduce the personal interaction in our lives. That type of connection is necessary, after all, we are a social species. I guess this means that I need to drag my old TTY from my attic. I only hope my mom remembers how to use hers! LOL! That idea baffled her 20 years ago! Thanks, Dontae, my blogging brother for suggesting this novel idea.

    BTW: I was trying to reply to your original pictorial post when it suddenly disappeared from my Reader. I wondered what happened!

    Much love and naked hugs, buddy! All my best! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

