You’ll Never Know !

The DJ tried one last time to make the club enjoyable or maybe to make me enjoyable. I came to the club to release the heavy burden of my mother’s death two weeks ago. Nothing honestly is working its magic during these mourning stages. I figured I just have to let it pass and run its course, how long is that going to take? I went to the bar to order me my last drink,” Can I get an Ameretta Sour,” i said placing twenty dollars on counter. “That’s going to be eleven dollars,” the bartender said. The bartender wiped fresh a new glass for me to mix the combinations of the armeretta mix and vodka together. “Don’t make it to strong!” I said watching him pour a little too much vodka in my drink. “I would like to remember tonight, damn!” I laughed. The bartender giggled and collected the twenty-dollar bill. “Keep the change,” I said. Hopefully he doesn’t mistaken my nice tip as flirting.

I took my drink still sitting on the chair sipping away watching everybody become another self in the dark room. The song unknown to me waved through the air controlling the sways of the people creatively moving to the beat. They created their own perception of the beat as some were in rhythm and some, like the red-head on my left side, was just slight off beat. I laughed and nodded my head at how confident he was with the song. He married the song with such vows of certainty. His face was zoned out with is eyes closed almost in a moving meditative state. You can tell he was comfortable in his skin probably more than he has ever been before.

You know, actually I think I’m going to show him how to dance. This should be very fun yet, bold of me to do. I got my from  my seat and placed my empty drink on the counter. “The was fast,” said the bartender. “Yeah, I know, I had a rough two weeks,” I said screaming over the loud music. “You should have let me make the drink stronger,” he laughed. “No, no that’s okay!” I swam through the bouncing bodies to the red-head dancing off cue. Hopefully, their were an understanding of me pushing and stepping on their shoes. I just don’t have the time to be screaming excuse me.

When I reached him his eyes were still closed. “Hey excuse me,” I said tapping on his shoulder. He stopped moving opened his eyes then closed them back. He continued in his unmatched sways to the beat. “Hey, excuse me, you are a little bit off. I want show you how to do it.” I scream. The guy opened his eyes waiting to see what I had to offer. Very simple I just move side to side meeting my feet together from the left to the right.
“See it’s very simple just ride the beat, pick a part of the song and just groove accordingly” I demonstrated. Finally speaking he said, “And what am I doing wrong?”
“let’s just say instead of picking one beat you are mixing all the beats and it looks crazy, no shade”
Together we worked on him trying to move to the beat until he was able to not need my guidance.
“I’m David, what brings you to the club today,” I said still swaying side to side letting my body move freely.
“My mother passed away recently, it’s Friday, I’m single, but I don’t feel social so i’m by myself. I’m Steven,” the red-head said while occasionally moving out of rhythm.
“My mother passed away too, that’s ironic. I am here for the same exact reason.”
“Is this your pick up line, if so that’s not funny.” Steven said.
“No, I’m serious my mother passed away of stomach cancer, and plus I don’t do red heads.”
“My mother did too!” Steven said “Rihanna did it so I’m allowed to do it also!” . He did share the same complexion as her, so I guess he can get a pass.
“That’s so ironic. Was you close to you mother, me and mother was very close so it’s really hard for me going through this alone,” I said

“No, we lost contact after I came out to her, but she is still my one and only mother, I missed the funeral and everything too, I’m not good with death”
“What is you mothers name?” I asked.

“Stephanie Bright,” He replied.

I stopped in my tracks immediately,”Stephanie Bright? Are you sure? “
“Yeah, Why would I lie about that!” He said sternly.
“When was her funeral service?”

“Last sunday! Why are we talking about this in a club. Look I’m sorry for your lost but you are getting to personal. I don’t know you and I’m here trying to end my night right. Goodnight!” Steven said while grabbing his black jacket he had against the chair.
I went into my wallet and pulled out a picture of my mother dressed in all white maxi dress paired with white and red Christain Louboutins and grabbed him by his shoulders.
“Didn’t I tell you to leave me alone, what the fuck!” He screamed.
“Is this your mother?”

Write Now: Writing Prompt: The DJ tried one last time to make the club enjoyable

3 thoughts on “You’ll Never Know !

  1. Very good job, my new blogging buddy. It’s forceful and exciting. Thank you! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

