One Ear: Pro’s and Con’s

So, I decided to conjure up a list of few pro’s to my con’s of hearing out of one ear.
Pro’s

  1. Riding On NYC Subway Becomes lil’ Easier.
    – Living in NYC you are bombarded and I mean rudely bullied,  and forcefully forced; knife by the neck threatening, to listen to people singing Aztec Civilization songs, street dancers on poles, beggars asking for change! It becomes so unbecoming. Since I hear out of one now I can easily tune of the noise with my headphones. All I can do is plug in and turn up the volume. The outside noise is completely turned off. Before, even with both earphones in the outside noise still seem to seep through. It’s a different experience then if you were to cover one hand with your ear or even ear plugs.
  2. Tune Out Noise.

    –  I live with my brother and at times he likes to be rude and be on the computer while I’m sleeping and type like he stomping on roaches! I can easily turn over on my hearing side to now have complete utter silence within. With conversations if you are too far away, or talking to much, or simply I don’t want to be bothered, I can ignore you and get away with it.


  3. Extra Success

    – People tend to believe, even me at one point, that hearing loss means I am severely handicap. I am not. I am fine. However, when I succeed in something especially in dancing or voguing I feel extra proud! I take pride in beating some one who has two ears and I only have one! …Con’s

  4. Alarm Clock

    So as mentioned before If I choose to absent noise when in bed all i have to do is turn over. Well, this even goes for an alarm clock. If I happened to roll over on my hearing side of the ear I can and have overslept the alarm. I will wake up completely angry like “What the fuck, which jackass did this? Who didn’t hear my alarm clock go off!” When really it’s been me who happen to fall on the hearing side. I haven’t used this as an excuse, yet, for being late to school everyday…notice how I said yet!Conversations Become Harder
  5. So, when surrounded by much noise louder than than the actual person speaking to me I only hear of the loudest noise. Even, lets say at a restaurant and nearby people are talking louder than my conversation I cannot hear. So clubs and events with loud music becomes a major burden to conversations. But I like to talk so I have no problem going through the annoyancePeople Forget
  6. Because I had no problem like this before, my peers tend forget about my hearing. Some people don’t even know and I tend to keep it that way. I feel it may propel people to look at me slightly different. I want no sympathy or any of those handicap treatments. Mostly, people always tend to remind me like “oh yeah you cant hear in one ear” or situation that involves listening to things they be like “Oh, Yeah, I forgot you can’t ear out of which ear again” then they’ll hand me an earphone. It not purposely done, at least I hope, but I don’t want to be reminded cause I tend to forget.

One thought on “One Ear: Pro’s and Con’s

  1. I like this list, and your ability to find humour in the situation! It’s interesting how much the loss of hearing on one side can have such an overreaching effect on overall hearing. It sounds like it’s not just that you hear half as much as you used to, or that you can only hear sounds coming from one direction.

    It makes me wonder if our ears have “specializations” where one ear is tuned to background noises, or one ear is better at hearing voices. If this is the case it might take your brain a little while to re-train itself to find some kind of balance? I don’t know, just speculating.

    How recently has this happened to you? I hope it continues to get easier, and that you continue to stay positive, as you adjust 🙂 Congratulations on surviving such a frightening illness and bearing the repercussions with grace!

    Like

Leave a comment